Movies and slot machines

All things considered I’ve watched more than my usual amount of movies this week.

It started earlier in the week when Julia and I went to see The Social Network (the film about Facebook). The film is really good – it more than lives up to it’s 8.4/10 rating on IMDB. I thoroughly enjoyed it – geeky in parts, it follows how Facebook came to be via two court cases in which Mark Zuckerberg faces legal claims over the original idea and money invested in the business. Well worth a watch for anyone.

That night Julia and I went for a drink before the film and ended up playing the slot machines at Tower Park. Julia found some success on a “one arm bandit” type machine winning about £11 and we both worked the 2p slot machines and won numerous prizes including the car below, robot water pistols and ducks which flash different colours when squeezed. Very juvenile I know but a nice bit of fun and not something we’d normally be doing on a night out 🙂

Anyways, as well as The Social Network I have this week watched The Crazies, a feeble attempt at a disaster/infection/zombie movie but without zombies (the “crazies” weren’t dead). I wouldn’t bother watching it.

I’ve watched the excellent The Incredible Hulk with Edward Norton which adds to the building “universe” of comic related movies that begin to link into each other (look out for Tony Stark making an appearance at the end re: “SHIELD”). And talking of Tony Stark, I have to say I was a little disappointed with Iron Man 2 – it was good, but no where near as good as the first.

Until recently I’ve not really been into comic books, but I have to say the way things are shaping up with these re-imaginations of comic book heros and plenty more in the pipeline, there’s some awesome comic book based films to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

